Photo by Donovan von Martens©
Photo by Donovan von Martens©

Drummer and composer Martina Almgren is described as a colourful addition to the contemporary Swedish jazz scene. Her passion for playful improvisations, enticing rhyhtms and expressive melodies reflects her drumming as well as her compositions.
Martina Almgren entered the Swedish jazz scene in the late 90s and is today also involved in several international collaborations. Acting as a band/co-leader for Martina & Owe Almgren Quartet, Oh Yeah Orchestra and MOZ Trio (with British pianist Zoe Rahman), she has so far released eight albums and composed on commission for the Swedish Jazz Radio and contemporary ensembles.
On her new album ”This Song of Mine”, Martina collaborates with the oud player Ahmad al Khatib with roots in Palestine, the Swedish singer Karin Burman and the acoustic bass guitarist Owe Almgren. The album features music composed to poems by the India/Bengali poet Rabindranath Tagore and has influences from jazz aswell as world and English Medieval music.

”I searched for new ways to approach composition and I wanted to work with lyrics. So I let the words lead and form a melody – I sang the poem at the first sight instead of reading it. This became a creative start for me. In a chamber music format I explored the expressions of the instruments; oud, vocals, acoustic bass guitar and percussion and let the musicians add their individual colour.” 


OYR013 This Song of Mine


OYR013 Oh Yeah Records release 7 September 2018

Martina Almgren – drums & percussion
Karin Burman – vocals
Ahmad al Khatib – oud
Owe Almgren – acoustic bass guitar

1. Opening
2. Waiting
3. I Thought(Closed Path)
4. Transit 1
5. I Dreamt
6. The Night is Black (On the Nature of Love)
7. Crossing
8. This Song of Mine (My Song)
9. Transit II
10. The Sun of the First Day
11. Flower
12. Ground

*All compositions by Martina Almgren
Lyrics by Rabindranath Tagore 
*no 4, 7, 9, 12 are improvisations by  Almgren/ Almgren/ al Khatib
Musical arrangements by Martina & Owe Almgren. Recorded and mixed by Johannes Lundberg at Studio Epidemin 2018.
Mastered by Henrik Alsér at Svenska Grammofon Studion  2018. Cover photo, art and graphic design by Malin Almgren.
Group photo by Donovan von Martens
Produced by Owe Almgren